The New Artist

ABOUT

Facebook

About

A research project about the changing self perception of artists in Switzerland

What is the artist’s role in today’s society?
What does success mean to artists?
Why are most artists poor?
How will artists work in 20 years?
And how do they perceive themselves today?

These are only five of 25 questions that we have asked 500 artists in Switzerland in Winter 2016/17. The survey and research project THE NEW ARTIST is all about the changes that today’s artists are faced with. We are asking these questions as the western concept of “the artist” is significantly changing in light of globalisation, hybridisation, transculturisation and digitalisation.

With the booming art market and the art environment becoming more complex, the artist’s profession is subject to progressing economisation, professionalisation and academisation. One of the only aspects about artists’ lives that appears to have remained the same over the past decades is the continuing unstable and poor work and life situation of many artists. Those of whom are often considered role models of the neoliberal system, all working independently, participating in projects and providers without regular income.

Why do people still choose to become artists, regardless of its hardships? Where does the inspiration come from and how does the modern creative worker survive? What conditions have changed and what are today and tomorrow’s artists’ opportunities, challenges and concerns?

The results of the survey can be found HERE, first analyses will follow in september 2017.

> Results
> Survey
> Further information

The New Artist

ÜBER

Facebook

Über

Forschungsprojekt zum sich wandelnden Selbstverständnis von Künstlerinnen und Künstlern in der Schweiz

Was ist die Rolle von Künstler_innen in der Gesellschaft?
Wie hat man als Künstler_in Erfolg?
Warum sind die meisten Künstler_innen arm?
Wie arbeiten Künstler_innen in 20 Jahren?
Und wie nehmen sie sich heute selbst wahr?

Das sind nur fünf von 25 Fragen, die wir rund 500 Künstler_innen in der Schweiz im Winter 2016/17 stellten.  Die Umfrage und das Forschungsprojekt THE NEW ARTIST ist den Veränderungen gewidmet, mit denen sich Künstler_innen heute konfrontiert sehen. Denn das westliche Konzept des „Künstlers“ befindet sich im Zuge der Globalisierung, Hybridisierung, Transkulturalisierung und Digitalisierung in einem signifikanten Wandel.

Ein zunehmend komplexer werdendes Kunstfeld samt boomender Kunstmarkt gehen einher mit einer fortschreitenden Ökonomisierung, Professionalisierung und Akademisierung des Künstlerberufes. Etwas vom Wenigen, was beinahe unverändert blieb über all die letzten Jahrzehnte ist die weiterhin prekären Arbeits- und Lebenssituation vieler Künstler_innen, die als selbstständige, flexible Projektarbeiter_innen und Dienstleister_innen ohne festen Lohn, gern auch als “role models“ des neoliberalen Systems bezeichnet werden.

Weshalb wird man heute dennoch Künstler_in? Woher kommen die Inspirationen und wie überleben die modernen Kreativarbeitenden? Was sind die gewandelten Bedingungen, Herausforderungen und Chancen, Hoffnungen und Sorgen der Kunstschaffenden von heute und morgen?

Die Resultate der Umfrage finden sie HIER, ersten Analysen folgen im September 2017.

> Resultate
> Fragebogen
> Weitere Informationen